top of page
Search
  • cado6597

Reading Blog #2

I really enjoyed listening to “4’33” because I liked the meaning behind it. It really isn’t silence and listening to all of the different sounds was interesting because if you think about it never truly is silent. I also think that it is people like John that change the arts and the meaning behind the arts. I really liked this quote from the article Gann writes, “It begged for a new approach to listening, perhaps even a new understanding of music itself, a blurring of the conventional boundaries between art and life.” I think what John Cage did was revolutionary because he did blur the boundaries between art and life. Music today will incorporate voicemails, phone calls, birds chirping, and a bunch of other sounds. Some people may call cages work as “absolutely ridiculous” or “stupid” according to the article which I can see how one might think it is a little bit ridiculous. The first time I listened to it I thought it was kind’ve comedic in a way but it also made me appreciate the sounds of life. I like how this article talks about Cage’s life like when he was in high school he was considered “radical”. I like how He didn’t conform to the rules of society and how he thinks outside of the box. That inspires me. It was interesting to learn that his father “devised one of the earliest functioning submarines; his mother covered the women’s-club circuit for the Los Angeles Times.” He came from a family with somewhat big names.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page